img_5504

So, I’m at the mid-point in my final week of free-range living. Soon I’ll be back behind a desk, watching that clock like all the other poor souls in the office. I didn’t have to do this. It was a mindful choice. There are pros and cons to every decision. This one comes with more benefits that pitfalls in the final assessment. In short, it’s the right thing to do.

I cooked today for a client–one of my last services on our contract that runs until April 1. I’ll be fitting that job into Saturdays through the month of March. She’s a good client and I will miss her. Bittersweet.

I have been writing like mad every chance I get this week. There are a few mental and emotional housekeeping tasks that must be resolved, and I have to say I am getting pretty damn close to freeing myself from habitual thinking patterns and a particular individual who has caused me suffering. Yay!

The blog. My work evolves as my consciousness evolves, so expect to be surprised. I know I was surprised by that piece I wrote the other day: “In Case I Need To Run”. I wrote it all in one shot, stream of consciousness style–as I was writing in my daily journal. That kind of thing happens more and more often these days.

The blog is one of the few places I go where there are no rules. I write whatever I want to write. I am beginning to feel a bit looser in that regard. And the deeper I go, the more I learn about myself. What a great payoff!

Coffee. As a celebration of almost 3 months of sobriety, I bought an espresso machine and that is definitely making me happy this week. If you happen to be in the market, De Longhi actually has a  model or two available at Target. I found a mid-range choice comparable to the one that sells for $300 at Williams-Sonoma for only $200. Win!

I finally got around to watching the movie “Fifty Shades of Grey” this afternoon with my peanut noodles. Wow, what a turkey!! I’m so glad I didn’t pay theater prices for that stinker. I could go into all the reasons why I hated it, but I’ll just move on and not spend any more energy there.

Quick Peanut Noodles

Sauce:

1 tbsp peanut butter

1 tbsp rice wine vinegar

1 tbsp low-sodium tamari (or soy sauce)

1 tsp fresh grated ginger (optional)

1/4 tsp garlic powder (optional)


Cooked noodles (any kind, from soba to spaghetti)

Assorted chopped or shredded fresh veggies (carrot, cabbage, scallions, etc.)

Fresh cilantro, chopped (lots)

Method:

Combine sauce ingredients, thinning with a bit of warm water to the consistency you like. Taste it. Does it taste good?? Now’s the time to add more of whatever you need to make it good for you.

Toss sauce with noodles and veggies, top with cilantro and a squirt of sriracha and you’re good to go!

IMG_5521.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

