img_5530

Wow, I am making progress. First the drinking, then the job, now the other thing. I am cleaning house, big time! What’s next? Yes, I do realize I was the problem in the other thing.  Addictive behaviors are often found in clusters. At any given time I am either in the problem or in the solution. Today, I am staying in the solution. You won’t find me crying in my pancakes.

After yesterday’s disappointing viewing I thought I might offer up a recommendation of one of my very favorite little relationship dramas, “Take This Waltz” starring Michelle Williams and Seth Rogen. Written and directed by Sarah Polley, this movie is  a visually stunning and refreshingly credible exploration into a restless young woman’s attempt at changing her life by changing men.

 It’s a quiet yet colorful meditation on relationship dynamics, the choices we make and the feelings that motivate us. This film is like comfort food to me.

Buckwheat Pancakes

Ingredients:

3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/4 cup stoneground buckwheat flour

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp fine sea salt

1 cup soy milk ( or other non-dairy milk)

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Method:

Heat cast iron griddle while whisking together dry ingredients in a medium-sized bowl. Blend together wet ingredients in a small bowl, then add to dry, mixing with a wooden spoon, just until well incorporated. If you do it too hard and for too long, your cakes will be tough and everyone will blame it on them being vegan. Not fair. So do it right.

When a drop of water sizzles on the surface, the griddle is ready. Pour 1/2 cup batter and cook until holes develop on surface of cake. Flip with a thin metal spatula and continue to cook for another 30 seconds or so, until set and brown. Repeat with remaining batter. Serve with real maple syrup, not that fake corn syrup shit. You deserve it.

Yield: 4 pancakes

IMG_5526 (1).jpg
Buckwheat pancakes with meatless sausage and maple syrup
