IMG_4675.jpg

I haven’t heard that song in seventy-five years

You say

“Love ya, Honey!”

You say, every day

A hundred times a day

 

Oh Jack

We’ve only just met

And soon we’ll be saying goodbye

 

They call it memory care

A locked ward

Secured unit

Alarm devices

 

To keep you safe from wandering

What is safe?

 

One morning I will show up

And you won’t be here

 

I hear them say it’s your time

To go in

But I look in your eyes

You look straight through me

When you stare

But I see you.

 

When you order anything I suggest…

For breakfast

For lunch

For dinner

Anything to appear normal

Anything to be granted

Just more day

Of freedom

 

I will remember

Your Absolut on the rocks

How you carefully place your tumbler

In the cup holder of your walker

And take yourself upstairs to bed

 

Jimmy Durante? I muse

When you sing to me

Paris in the Spring

You know it note for note

From another girl

From another time

 

When you  go

I know you won’t remember

But I’ll remember you.

